Soaps TV News

Genie Francis Returning to ‘General Hospital’

Genie Francis and Tony Geary
Actors Anthony Geary (L) and Genie Francis speak onstage during The 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards at Warner Bros. Studios on April 26, 2015 in Burbank, California. Photo Credit: Jesse Grant/Getty Images North America

It’s the news some General Hospital fans have been waiting for! Soap legend Genie Francis is returning to ABC’s General Hospital as Laura Spencer!

Genie Francis
Actress Genie Francis attends The 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards at Warner Bros. Studios on April 26, 2015 in Burbank, California. Photo Credit: Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images North America

The announcement comes days after Francis reunited with long-time leading man Anthony Geary (Luke) on-stage at the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards. We’re sure their fans are thrilled for the looming Luke and Laura on-screen reunion!

General Hospital executive producer Frank Valentini announced the news Wednesday via Twitter.

Genie Francis began playing Laura in 1976. Over the next 30 years, the actress has come and gone on numerous occasion. She last returned to GH in 2013 for the soap’s 50th anniversary. While planning a wedding to on-again, off-again first love Scotty Baldwin (Kin Shriner), Laura and Luke took off to save their daughter from the villainous Cassadines. She would later divorce Scott when it was clear she wasn’t completely over Luke.

We reached out to a GH rep for comment, but the show is keeping the details surrounding Francis’ under lock and key. The moment we know more, you’ll know more! Stay tuned to TVSource Magazine as more information is made available.

Author’s Note: How exiting for fans of Genie Francis and Luke & Laura!

About the author

Ryan White-Nobles

Ryan White-Nobles is Editor-in-Chief of TVSource Magazine. He's a natural #Heel who loves a spirited debate and probably watches too much TV. Follow him on Twitter at @SourceRyan to discuss all things TV, soaps, sports, wrestling and pop culture.