SoapsTV News

2010 Writers Guild Award Winners


2010 Writers Guild Award Winners

The Young and the Restless takes top soap honors at the 2010 Writers Guild Awards.


The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) tonight announced the winners of the 2010 Writers Guild Awards for outstanding achievement in writing for screen, television, radio, news, promotional, and videogame writing at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City and the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

The Young and the Restless scored it’s fourth WGA Award for Best Daytime Serial, beating All My Children, One Life to Live and As The World Turns to capture the genre’s top honor. Writers Amanda L. Beall, Tom Casiello, Lisa Connor, Janice Ferri Esser, Eric Freiwald, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Beth Milstein, Natalie Minardi Slater, Melissa Salmons, Linda Schreiber, James Stanley, Sandra Weintraub and Teresa Zimmerman were those from the Y&R team eligible for an award.

Susie Essman of the HBO series Curb Your Enthusiam hosted the East Coast version of the show, which was executive produced by Craig Shemin, who also served as head writer. Seth MacFarlane (Family Guy) hosted the West Coast version of the show, which was executive produced by Spike Jones, Jr.


The Hurt Locker written by Mark Boal won Original Screenplay, beating out (500) Days of Summer, Avatar, The Hangover, and A Serious Man.

Up in the Air, screenplayer written by Jason Reitman and Shelton Turner won for Adapted Screenplay, beating out Crazy Heart, Julie & Julia, Precious: Based on the novel “Push” by Sapphire and Star Trek.

The Cove written by Mark Monroe won Documentary Screenplay, beating out Against the Tide, Capitalism: A Love Story, Earth Days, Good Hair and Soundtrack for Revolution.


Drama Series: Mad Men, Written by Lisa Albert, Andrew Colville, Kater Gordon, Cathryn Humphris, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Brett Johnson, Erin Levy, Marti Noxon, Frank Pierson, Robin Veith, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner

Comedy Series: 30 Rock, Written by Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tom Ceraulo, Vali Chandrasekaran, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Steve Hely, Matt Hubbard, Dylan Morgan, Paula Pell, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner, Tracey Wigfield

New Series: Modern Family, Written by Paul Corrigan, Sameer Gardezi, Joe Lawson, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Dan O’Shannon, Brad Walsh, Caroline Williams, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Episodic Drama: House for “Broken, Part 1 and Part 2” Written by Russel Friend & Garrett Lerner & David Foster & David Shore

Episodic Comedy: 30 Rock for “Apollo, Apollo,” Written by Robert Carlock and Modern Family for “Pilot,” Written by Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd.

Animation: The Simpsons for “Wedding for Disaster” Written by Joel H. Cohen

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) Series:
Saturday Night Live
Writing Team – Head Writer: Seth Meyers: Writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Alex Baze, Jessica Conrad, James Downey, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, John Lutz, Lorne Michaels, John Mulaney, Paula Pell, Simon Rich, Marika Sawyer, Akiva Schaffer, John Solomon, Emily Spivey, Kent Sublette, Jorma Taccone, Bryan Tucker, Additional Sketch by Adam McKay, Andrew Steele)

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Writing Team – Head Writer: Steve Bodow; Writers Rory Albanese, Kevin Bleyer, Rich Blomquist, Tim Carvell, Wyatt Cenac, Hallie Haglund, JR Havlan, David Javerbaum, Elliott Kalan, Josh Lieb, Sam Means, Jo Miller, John Oliver, Daniel Radosh, Jason Ross, Jon Stewart)

For a full list of presenters, attendees and winners, visit the WGA East website.

TV Source Magazine Staff
Used for collaborations, team features, etc. Follow the TVSource account on Twitter @TVSource

When A Storyline Goes Bad

Previous article

General Hospital's New Opening Credits

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Soaps