NBC Orders Ryan Murphy Comedy 'The New Normal,' J.J. Abram's Drama 'Revolution' to Series

NBC has announced the pickup of three new comedies, one from popular television writer, Ryan Murphy (‘Glee’), and a drama from another equally popular writer, J.J. Abrams (‘Alias’).

Murphy is spreading to another network with the announcement of a series order for The New Normal. This will be Murphy’s fourth television endeavor, following Glee on Fox, The Glee Project on Oxygen, and The American Horror Story on FX. The comedy will center on a couple (Andrew Rannells, Justin Bartha) and their surrogate (Regina King) as they become a family. Ellen Barkin and NeNe Leakes will play additional cast members as well.

1600 Penn is a comedy about the White House’s dysfunctional family written by Jason Winer (Modern Family), Josh Gad (Book of Mormon) and John Lovett, a former speechwriter for President Obama.

Rounding out the comedy pickups are Save Me starring Anne Heche and Go On starring television comedic veteran Matthew Perry.

J.J. Abram’s Revolution is the first drama announced and will tell the story of a family struggling to survive a postapocalyptic American landscape. The world as we know it today is now gone and they have to figure out how to make it. The cast is made up of Billy Burke, David Lyons, Giancarlo Esposito, Tracy Spiridakos, Graham Rogers, Anna Lise Phillips, Tim Guinee, Andrea Roth, JD Pardo, and Zak Ortho. Eric Kripke (Supernatural) will write and produce alongside J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk.

1 comment

  1. Ugh. You lost me when you mentioned NeNe will be on this. I’d rather not see her trasy butt.

Comments are closed.