SoapsTV News

BET, CBS Lead 45th NAACP Image Award Nominations

Pictured: Kerry Washington (Olivia) in the Scandal episode "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner" | Photo Credit: Danny Feld/ABC

Scandal star Kerry Washington is among the nominees announced for the 45th NAACP Image Awards at the TV One presentation to the Television Critics Association during its Winter 2014 Press Tour in Pasadena, CA. BET and CBS lead the nominees in the TV categories with 19 and 16 nominations respectively, followed by ABC with 15 nominations and HBO with 13 nominations.

The  NAACP  Image  Awards  celebrates  the  accomplishments   of  people  of  color  in  the  fields  of  television,  music, literature  and film and also honors  individuals  or groups  who promote  social  justice  through  creative  endeavors. David  Oyelowo  (“Lee  Daniels’  ‘The  Butler’”),  Joe  Morton  (ABC’s  “Scandal”),  Keke Palmer  (VH1’s  “CrazySexyCool”),   Bresha  Webb  (TV  One’s  “Love  That  Girl”)  and  Gina  Torres  (USA’s  “Suits”) were on hand to announce the nominees and categories to the panel.

The NAACP Image Awards will air Saturday, Feb. 22 at 9:00 pm on TV One. The festivities will begin with a red carpet pre-show at 8:00 pm.

“This has been an incredible year from the artistic community, with phenomenal contributions across the board from the music, television,  motion picture, and literature genres that have the power and impact to drive social change,” stated  Roslyn  M.  Brock, Chairman of the NAACP. “The  NAACP  Image  Awards provides  an  excellent  venue to recognize  those  who make  a difference  through  art and activism,  and we are excited  to honor  and celebrate  this caliber of talent.”

As usual, the CBS’ daytime soaps cleaned up with nine nominations; ABC earned one. NBC did not receive any nominations for Days of our Lives. The Bold and the Beautiful’s Aaron D. Spears and Lawrence Saint Victor, The Young and the Restless’ Kristoff St. John and Redaric Williams and General Hospital’s Tequan Richmond make up the nominees for Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Series.

The Young and the RestlessAngell Conwell, Christel Khalil, Tatyana Ali and The Bold and the Beautiful’s Karla Mosley and Kristolyn Loyd are nominated for Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series.

Select nominees are listed below:

Outstanding Drama Series

  • “Boardwalk Empire” (HBO)
  • “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)
  • “Scandal” (ABC)
  • “The Good Wife” (CBS)
  • “Treme” (HBO)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

  • James Pickens, Jr. -­‐   “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)
  • LL Cool J -­‐   “NCIS: Los Angeles” (CBS)
  • Michael Ealy -­‐   “Almost Human” (FOX)
  • Shemar Moore -­‐   “Criminal Minds” (CBS)
  • Wendell Pierce -­‐   “Treme” (HBO)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

  • Chandra Wilson -­‐   “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)
  • Kerry Washington -­‐   “Scandal” (ABC)
  • Khandi Alexander -­‐   “Treme” (HBO)
  • Nicole Beharie -­‐   “Sleepy Hollow” (FOX)
  • Regina King -­‐   “SouthLAnd” (TNT)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

  • Columbus Short -­‐   “Scandal” (ABC)
  • Guillermo Diaz -­‐   “Scandal” (ABC)
  • Jeffrey Wright -­‐   “Boardwalk Empire” (HBO)
  • Joe Morton -­‐   “Scandal” (ABC)
  • Michael Kenneth Williams -­‐   “Boardwalk Empire” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

  • Archie Panjabi -­‐   “The Good Wife” (CBS)
  • Debbie Allen -­‐   “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)
  • Diahann Carroll -­‐   “White Collar” (USA)
  • Taraji P. Henson -­‐   “Person of Interest” (CBS)
  • Vanessa L. Williams -­‐   “666 Park Avenue” (ABC)

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series

  • Aaron D. Spears -­‐   “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
  • Kristoff St. John -­‐   “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
  • Lawrence Saint Victor -­‐   “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
  • Redaric Williams -­‐   “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
  • Tequan Richmond -­‐   “General Hospital” (ABC)

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series

  • Angell Conwell -­‐   “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
  • Christel Khalil -­‐   “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
  • Karla Mosley -­‐   “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
  • Kristolyn Lloyd -­‐   “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
  • Tatyana Ali -­‐   “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)

Outstanding Comedy Series

  • “House of Lies” (Showtime)
  • “Modern Family” (ABC)
  • “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)
  • “The Game” (BET)
  • “The Soul Man” (TV Land)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Andre Braugher -­‐   “Brooklyn Nine-­‐Nine” (FOX)
  • Cedric The Entertainer -­‐   “The Soul Man” (TV Land)
  • Don Cheadle -­‐   “House of Lies” (Showtime)
  • Dulé Hill -­‐   “Psych” (USA Network)
  • Kevin Hart -­‐   “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Aisha Tyler -­‐   “Archer” (FX Networks)
  • Mindy Kaling -­‐   “The Mindy Project” (FOX)
  • Niecy Nash -­‐   “The Soul Man” (TV Land)
  • Tasha Smith -­‐   “Tyler Perry’s For Better or Worse” (OWN)
  • Wendy Raquel Robinson -­‐   “The Game” (BET)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Boris Kodjoe -­‐   “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)
  • Jerry “J B Smoove” Brooks -­‐   “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)
  • Morris Chestnut -­‐   “Nurse Jackie” (Showtime)
  • Nick Cannon -­‐   “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)
  • Tracy Morgan -­‐   “30 Rock” (NBC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Anna Deavere Smith -­‐   “Nurse Jackie” (Showtime)
  • Brandy Norwood -­‐   “The Game” (BET)
  • Nia Long -­‐   “House of Lies” (Showtime)
  • Rashida Jones -­‐   “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)
  • Sofia Vergara -­‐   “Modern Family” (ABC)

Outstanding Television Movie, Mini-­‐Series or Dramatic Special

  • “Being Mary Jane” (BET)
  • “Betty & Coretta” (Lifetime)
  • “CrazySexyCool:  The TLC Story” (VH1)
  • “Luther” (BBC America)
  • “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight” (HBO)

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie, Mini-­‐Series or Dramatic Special

  • Chiwetel Ejiofor -­‐   “Dancing on the Edge” (Starz)
  • Danny Glover -­‐   “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest (HBO)
  • Idris Elba -­‐   “Luther” (BBC America)
  • Malik Yoba -­‐   “Betty & Coretta” (Lifetime)
  • Omari Hardwick -­‐   “Being Mary Jane” (BET)

Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie, Mini-­‐Series or Dramatic Special

  • Angela Bassett -­‐   “American Horror Story: Coven” (FX Networks)
  • Angela Bassett -­‐   “Betty & Coretta” (Lifetime)
  • Gabourey Sidibe -­‐   “American Horror Story: Coven” (FX Networks)
  • Gabrielle Union -­‐   “Being Mary Jane” (BET)
  • Keke Palmer -­‐   “CrazySexyCool:  The TLC Story” (VH1)

For the complete list of nominees, visit

Ryan White-Nobles
Ryan White-Nobles is Editor-in-Chief of TV Source Magazine. He's began covering entertainment and soap operas in 2005. In 2009 he co-launched Soap Opera Source, and led the TV Source rebrand in 2012. He's a natural #Heel who loves a spirited debate and probably watches too much TV. Follow him on Twitter at @SourceRyan to discuss all things TV, soaps, sports, wrestling and pop culture.

WWE to Launch WWE Network on February 24, 2014

Previous article

HBO Sets Season Premiere Dates for ‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Veep,’ ‘Vice’; New Series ‘Silicon Valley’

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Soaps