SoapsTV News

37th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Winners


37th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Winners

“The Bold and the Beautiful” and “As the World Turns” win top honors at the 37th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards in Las Vegas.


Presenters Revealed for the 37th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) tonight announced the winners of the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy® Awards televised live on the CBS Television Network. For the first time in Daytime Emmy® Award history, the gala took place at the Las Vegas Hilton, hosted by talk show personality, Regis Philbin. Keeping in the tradition of the glitz and glam of Sin City, many of the stars working the famed Vegas Strip such as David Copperfield and Barry Manilow appeared on the telecast, as well as the casts of the Lion King, Jersey Boys, Blue Man Group, KA by Cirque du Soleil, and other Vegas shows.

Daytime legend, Agnes Nixon, was honored with the Academy’s Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of her contributions for over 45 years in the genre alongside of All My Children‘s 40th Anniversary recognition.  Nixon created ABC’s One Life to Live, All My Children and Loving, and also wrote for other shows such as Search for Tomorrow, As the World Turns, Guiding Light and Another World. The telecast also featured a special tribute to entertainer and producer Dick Clark which was hosted by Ryan Seacrest that included musical acts such as Marie Osmond, Tony Orlando, Chubby Checker, the Spinners and vintage clips of the classic American Bandstand television show. Simon Cowell said via satellite, “Without Bandstand, without Dick, there would be no American Idol.”

The presenters ranged from Jeff Foxworthy (Are you Smarter than a 5th Grader?), Cameron Mathison & Rebecca Budig (All My Children), Sharon Case & Joshua Morrow (The Young & the Restless), Michael Easton & Trevor St. John (One Life to Live), Louise Sorel & Peter Reckell (Days of Our Lives), John Hensley & Kelley Hensley (As the World Turns), Zach Conroy & Kimberly Matula (The Bold & the Beautiful), Jonathan Jackson & Kelly Monaco, General Hospital, Wayne Brady, and Vanessa Marcil (General Hospital). Kelly Monaco, Montell Williams, and Ronn Moss (The Bold & the Beautiful), encouraged viewers to get involved in Daytime Gives Back, a charity organization that helps feed the children of the world.

Discovery Channel’s “Cash Cab” won the Emmy for Game Show for a third year in a row, with Ben Bailey winning his first award as best Game Show Host. Dr. Mehmet Oz of The Doctor Oz Show was named best talk show host in his program’s freshman year.

The powerhouse actors of As the World Turns biggest triangle last year, Michael Park, Maura West and Julie Pinson all took home trophies for Outstanding  Lead Actor, Outstanding Lead Actress and Outstanding Supporting Actress, respectively. The wins were an emotional send-off to the show that wrapped taping last week. Park’s speech was particularly poignant and West’s included bringing her teary eyed daughter on stage with her. The night was definitely the closure World Turns fans needed and Guiding Light fans didn’t get last year. It’ll be interesting to see where these three actors and the other talented cast members of World Turns land when the chips fall.

The show also recognized As the World Turns as it goes off the air in September. Husband and wife John Hensley and Kelley Menighan Hensley introduced a reel of clips from the show, which was up for 14 Emmy Awards this weekend.

The Bold & the Beautiful won the Emmy for Outstanding Daytime Drama for a second year in a row, choosing for the second year in a row, to submit an emotionally gripping episode versus the action packed fare that the early on favorite General Hospital usually goes for. The bells and whistles got GH the trophy for Outstanding Directing Team, but didn’t give them enough gas for the big trophy at the end of the night. This year, executive producer Brad Bell was able to give his speech in full thanks to the time management the awards show producers employed. It was a good night for B&B. The show also took home trophies for Outstanding Writing and Drew Tyler Bell won Outstanding Younger Actor.

The CBS daytime lineup continued to dominate as Billy Miller earned his first Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Daytime Drama for his work on The Young and the Restless. Julie Berman can now use her Emmys as bookends. The actress, who began as supercouple Luke and Laura’s daughter on General Hospital in 2005 picked up her second consecutive Emmy as Outstanding Younger Actress.

Complete List of Winners:

Drama Series
“The Bold & the Beautiful”

Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Maura West, “As the World Turns”

Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Michael Park, “As the World Turns”

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Julie Pinson, “As the World Turns”

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Billy Miller, “The Young and the Restless”

Game Show
“Cash Cab”

Informative Talk Show
“The Doctors”

Younger Actor in a Drama Series
Drew Tyler Bell, “The Bold & The Beautiful”

Younger Actress in a Drama Series
Julie Berman, “General Hospital”

Entertainment Talk Show
“The Ellen DeGeneres Show”

Drama Series Directing Team
“General Hospital”

Drama Series Writing Team
“The Bold & the Beautiful”

Talk Show Host
Mehmet Oz, “The Dr. Oz Show”

Game Show Host
Ben Bailey, “Cash Cab”

Follow TVSource Magazine on Twitter at @TVSource | Facebook Fan Page

Michelle Stafford Hosts Pre-Awards Party at LAVO

Previous article

Post-Emmy Interviews from 37th Annual Daytime Emmy Winners

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Soaps