TV News

28th Annual Television Critics Association Award Winners


Creator Vince Gilligan (Speaking), (L-R) Executive Producer Mark Johnson, Actors RJ Mitte, Bryan Cranston, Co-Executive Producer Michelle MacLaren, Actors Jonathan Banks, Co-Executive Producer Melissa Bernstein, Actors Betsy Brandt, Aaron Paul and writer/producer Peter Gould accept the Outstanding Achievement in Drama Award for 'Breaking Bad onstage during the 28th Annual Television Critics Association Awards at The Beverly Hilton Hotel on July 28, 2012 in Beverly Hills, California.

On Saturday, the Television Critics Association (TCA) held its 28th Annual TCA Awards presentation at the Beverly Hilton Hotel for the 2011-2012 television season. The organization, made up of over 200 professional TV critics and journalists from the United States and Canada, bestowed awards in 12 categories to recipients in comedy, drama, reality, miniseries, news and youth programming in conjunction with TCA’s summer press tour. Bryan Cranston, star of AMCs hit drama, Breaking Bad, hosted the event, which was not televised. 

HBO’s Game of Thrones took top honors for Program of the Year and Showtime’s Homeland earned a win for Outstanding New Program. In addition to honoring current programming, the TCA gave its Heritage Award to NBC’s classic sitcom, Cheers for the cultural and social impact the program has had on society.

The following is a complete list of the 2012 TCA Award recipients:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Claire Danes, Homeland (Showtime)

Individual Achievement in Comedy: Louis C.K., Louie (FX)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: 60 Minutes (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: So You Think You Can Dance (Fox)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: Switched at Birth (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program: Homeland (Showtime)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: Breaking Bad (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: Louie (FX)

Career Achievement Award: David Letterman

Heritage Award: Cheers

Program of the Year: Game of Thrones (HBO)

Mandy Treccia
Mandy Treccia has served as TVSource Magazine’s Executive Editor since 2016, formerly as Editorial Director from 2012-2016. She is an avid TV watcher and card carrying fan girl prone to sudden bursts of emotion, ranging from extreme excitement to blind rage during her favorite shows and has on more than once occasion considered having a paper bag on hand to get her through some tough TV moments. Her taste in TV tends to rival that of a thirteen-year-old girl, but she’s okay with that.

TCA 2012: ABC's 'Nashville' More Than Just Country Music

Previous article

TCA 2012: The CW's 'Emily Owens, M.D.' Takes Center Stage

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in TV News