SoapsTV News

Daytime Emmys: CBS, TOLN Clean Up at the Creative Arts Emmys

The Bold and the Beautiful Costume Design winners attend the Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards Gala at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel on June 20, 2014 in Los Angeles, California. Photo Credit: Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images North America)

On Friday night, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 41st Annual Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy® Awards in a sold-out, grand gala for over 1,200 attendees at the Westin Bonaventure, in downtown Los Angeles.

The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy® Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. during the 2013 calendar year.

“This evening is a tribute to the hundreds of nominees that raise the bar year-in and year-out of what’s possible in Daytime television,” said Malachy Wienges, Chairman, NATAS.  “With this year’s over 1,400 entrants, and the over 1,200 attendees including this year’s Lifetime Achievement honoree, Russell Morash, here tonight, it’s another great year for Daytime television and the Daytime community.”

The illustrious group of presenters included June Lockhart, George Chakiris, Leeza Gibbons, Joseph Rosendo, “Joseph Rosendo’s Travelscope”, JD Roberto and Rebecca Budig, hosts of “The Better Show”, Norm Abrams, Kevin O’Connor , Richard Trethewey , Roger Cook , Tom Silva from “This Old House”, David Rudman with Cookie Monster and Leslie Carrara-Rudolph with Abby Caddaby from “Sesame Street”, Hayley Faith Negrin, voice of “Peg” in “Peg+Cat”, The Fresh Beat Band: Jon Beavers, Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer, Tara Perry and Thomas Hobson.  Stars presenting from the Daytime Dramas include Lauralee Bell, Jess Walton, and Sean Carrigan of “The Young and the Restless,” Denyse Tontz, and Eric Nelsen of “All My Children,’ Tuc Watkins, and Kaisie DePaiva of “One Life to Live,” Guy Wilson, and Freddie Smith of “Days of Our Lives,” William DeVry, and Lisa LoCicero of “General Hospital,” and Heather Tom and Don Diamont of “The Bold and the Beautiful.”

CBS and (The Online Network) came out the big winners of the evening, walking out with seven and five awards, respectively.

Young and the Restless star Lauralee Bell, daughter of the late, great William J. Bell, also picked up a Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Class – Short Format Daytime for “mI promise”.

A list of all the winners from the drama categories are below.


  • The Bold and the Beautiful – 4
  • All My Children – 3
  • The Young and the Restless – 3
  • General Hospital – 2
  • One Life To Live – 2

Outstanding Casting Director for a Drama Series

Mark Teschner, CSA, General Hospital ABC

Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design for a Drama Series

All My Children, | Production Designer – Tim Goodmanson;  Art Director – Martin Fahrer; Set Decorators – Sarah Fredericks, Lisa K. Nilsson

One Life To Live, | Production Designer – Tim Goodmanson; Art Director – Martin Fahrer; Set Decorators – Sarah Fredericks, Lisa K. Nilsson

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Direction for a Drama Series

The Young and the Restless, CBS | Lighting Directors William Roberts, Ray Thompson

Outstanding Technical Team for a Drama Series

The Young and the Restless, CBS | Technical Director -Tracy Lawrence; Camera Operators – John Bromberek, Luis Godinez Jr., Kai Kim; Video Controls – Robert Bosio, Scha Jani

Outstanding Achievement in Multiple Camera Editing for a Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful, CBS | Editors – Brian Bagwell, Marc Beruti, Zoe Edgerton, Anthony Pascarelli, Jonathan Smilowitz

Outstanding Achievement in Live and Direct to Tape Sound Mixing for a Drama Series

One Life To Live, | Production Mixers – Frank DiMaulo, Ed Dolan; Pre-Production Mixer – Bob Saccetti; Post-Production Mixer – James Kowal; Re-Recording Mixer – Michael Allen; Boom Operators– Andrew Capuano, Locke Wallace

Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series

All My Children, | Music Director – Brian Lydell; Composers – George Whitty, Ed Dzubak, Dominic Messinger, Jamie Lawrence, Gary Kuo, Chris Child, Patricio Morales

Outstanding Original Song – Drama

All My Children, | “Parachute”Composer & Lyricist – Denyse Tontz; Composer – Suren Wijeyaratne

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design for a Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful, CBS | Costume Designer – Glenda Maddox
The Young and the Restless, CBS | Costume Designer – Mary Iannelli

Outstanding Achievement in Hairstyling for a Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful, CBS | Key Hairstylist – Michele Arvizo; Hairstylists – Adriana Lucio, Romaine Markus-Meyers, Audrey Soto

Outstanding Achievement in Makeup for a Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful, CBS | Key Makeup Artist – Christine Lai-Johnson; Makeup Artists – Jackie Brubaker, Allison Carey, Melissa Sandora

General Hospital, ABC | Head Makeup Artist – Donna Messina Armogida; Makeup Artists – Angela Ackley, Caitlin Davison, Melinda Osgood,  Tamara Papirian, Bobbi Roberts

For a complete list of the non-drama winners, visit

Ryan White-Nobles
Ryan White-Nobles is Editor-in-Chief of TV Source Magazine. He's began covering entertainment and soap operas in 2005. In 2009 he co-launched Soap Opera Source, and led the TV Source rebrand in 2012. He's a natural #Heel who loves a spirited debate and probably watches too much TV. Follow him on Twitter at @SourceRyan to discuss all things TV, soaps, sports, wrestling and pop culture.

Mishael Morgan Talks ‘Y&R’s Hot Love Triangle, CW’s ‘Backpackers’ and Staying Fit

Previous article

General Hospital Preview: June 23 Edition

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Soaps