TV News

ABC Sets Their Midseason Premiere Dates For New and Returning Series

Photo Credit: ABC

ABC announced their first wave of 2021-2022 midseason premiere dates for both new series and returning fan favorites.

New workplace comedy series Abbott Elementary will have a special early premiere on Tuesday December 7 at 9:30 ahead of its timeslot premiere on Tuesday January 4 at 9:00. Leading out of Abbott Elementary on January 4 will be the final season premiere of black-ish at 9:30. New series Queens will continuing airing at 10 on Tuesdays.

A brand new season of The Bachelor returns Monday January 3. Leading out of the new season of The Bachelor will be the new series Promised Land starting January 24 at 10. The Good Doctor will go on hiatus while the new drama series airs.

ABC’s Wednesday comedy lineup consisting of The Goldbergs, The Wonder Years, The Conners, and Home Economics, returns January 5 leading into all new episodes of game show The Chase at 10. A Million Little Things will go on hiatus while the show airs.

Previously announced limited series Women of the Movement premieres January 6 from 8-10.

Additional midseason dates and announcements will be made at a later time.

9:30-10:00 p.m. “Abbott Elementary” (early series premiere)

8:00-10:01 p.m. “The Bachelor”

9:00-9:30 p.m. “Abbott Elementary” (regular time period premiere)
9:30-10:00 p.m. “black-ish”
10:00-11:00 p.m. “Queens”

8:00-8:30 p.m. “The Goldbergs”
8:30-9:00 p.m. “The Wonder Years”
9:00-9:31 p.m. “The Conners”
9:31-10:00 p.m. “Home Economics”
10:00-11:00 p.m. “The Chase”

8:00-10:00 p.m. “Women of the Movement” (series premiere)

10:01-11:00 p.m. “Promised Land” (series premiere)

“ABBOTT ELEMENTARY” (Series Premiere) – TUESDAY, DEC. 7 (9:30-10:00 p.m.) and TUESDAY, JAN. 4 (9:00-9:30 p.m.)

From creator, executive producer and star Quinta Brunson, and executive producers Justin Halperin and Patrick Schumacker, comes “Abbott Elementary,” a workplace comedy following a group of dedicated, passionate teachers – and a slightly tone-deaf principal – as they navigate the Philadelphia public school system. Despite the odds stacked against them, they are determined to help their students succeed in life, and though these incredible public servants may be outnumbered and underfunded, they love what they do – even if they don’t love the school district’s less-than-stellar attitude toward educating children.

“Abbott Elementary” stars Quinta Brunson as Janine Teagues, Tyler James Williams as Gregory Eddie, Janelle James as Ava Coleman, Chris Perfetti as Jacob Hill, Lisa Ann Walter as Melissa Schemmenti and Sheryl Lee Ralph as Barbara Howard.

Quinta Brunson serves as writer and executive producer alongside Justin Halpern and Patrick Schumacker of Delicious Non-Sequitur Productions, and Randall Einhorn. The series is produced by Warner Bros. Television and 20th Television, a part of Disney Television Studios. The pilot episode is written by Quinta Brunson and directed by Randall Einhorn.

Follow “Abbott Elementary” (#AbbottElementary) on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

“WOMEN OF THE MOVEMENT” (Series Premiere) – THURSDAY, JAN. 6 (8:00-10:00 p.m.)

This six-episode series to be aired in three parts is based on the true story of Mamie Till-Mobley, who in 1955 risked her life to find justice after her son Emmett was brutally murdered in the Jim Crow South. Unwilling to let Emmett’s murder disappear from the headlines, Mamie chose to bear her pain on the world’s stage, emerging as an activist for justice and igniting the civil rights movement as we know it today.

The limited series stars Adrienne Warren as Mamie Till-Mobley, Tonya Pinkins as Alma, Cedric Joe as Emmett Till, Ray Fisher as Gene Mobley, Glynn Turman as Mose Wright, Chris Coy as J.W. Milam, Carter Jenkins as Roy Bryant and Julia McDermott as Carolyn Bryant.

“Women of the Movement” is produced by Kapital Entertainment and created by Marissa Jo Cerar, who also serves as executive producer and showrunner. Reverend Wheeler Parker Jr., Dr. Marvel Parker, Ms. Ollie Gordon and Christopher Benson serve as consultants for the series. Executive producers are Aaron Kaplan, Dana Honor and Michael Lohmann (Kapital Entertainment), Shawn Carter, Jay Brown and Tyran “Ty Ty” Smith (Roc Nation), Will Smith and James Lassiter (Westbrook), Rosanna Grace (Serendipity Group Inc.), Alex Foster and John Powers Middleton (Middleton Media Group), David Clark (Mazo Partners) and Gina Prince-Bythewood. The first episode is written by Marissa Jo Cerar and directed by Gina Prince-Bythewood. Tina Mabry, Julie Dash and Kasi Lemmons also serve as directors on the limited series.

Follow “Women of the Movement” (#WomenOfTheMovement) on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

“PROMISED LAND” (Series Premiere) – MONDAY, JAN. 24 (10:01-11:00 p.m.)

“Promised Land” is an epic, generation-spanning drama about two Latinx families vying for wealth and power in California’s Sonoma Valley.

The series will star John Ortiz as Joe Sandoval, Cecilia Suárez as Lettie Sandoval, Augusto Aguilera as Mateo Flores, Christina Ochoa as Veronica Sandoval, Mariel Molino as Carmen Sandoval, Tonatiuh as Antonio Sandoval, Andres Velez as Carlos Rincón, Katya Martín as Juana Sánchez and Rolando Chusan as Billy Rincón and Bellamy Young as Margaret Honeycroft.

“Promised Land” is written and executive produced by Matt Lopez. Adam Kolbrenner and Maggie Malina also serve as executive producers. Executive producer Michael Cuesta will also direct. The series is produced by ABC Signature, a part of Disney Television Studios.

Follow “Promised Land” (#PromisedLand) on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Lee Arvoy
Lee Arvoy joined the TV Source team in the summer of 2020 as a TV Writer.

Your TV Source Roundup: ‘The Witcher’ Trailer, ‘Servant’ Premiere Date, Jenna Dewan’s Lucy Lane Returns, ‘The Real Housewives of Miami’ Revived, Lindsey Morgan to Exit ‘Walker’, ‘Love Joy’ Trailer, and More!

Previous article

CBS Sets Their Holiday Programming Lineup With Festive Movies and Specials

Next article

You may also like

More in TV News